This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...
We are aware of the issues last night with regard to the upload of data from TCS and they are being investigated as a matter of the very highest priority
hide announcement

Dorset County Cricket Club

To apply for membership of Dorset CCC, or to register your email address as an existing member, please email : for information and an application form.  To become an online member, select the Sign Up option above.

On Monday 6th April, on a beautifully sunny day, we were hosted by Wiltshire CCC, for a pre-season friendly, at Calne CC.

Wiltshire chose to bat and after a good opening stand of 49 between Ed Kilbee (15) and Uzi Qureshi (17) they showed their problems with dealing with spin in the middle overs. They collapsed to 104 for 9 wickets before a last wicket stand of 44 between Steve Warner (who top scored with 21) and Tom Foley took the score to 148 all out in 45.1 overs. The Dorset spinners, Tom Hicks 2 for 22, Sam Thomson  4 for 20 and Jake Lintott 2 for 6 did the damage.  In reply, Dorset had little trouble in reaching their target with 19.2 overs remaining for the loss of 4 wickets.  Masoor Khan (21) and Jake Lintott (63) had scored 50% of the required runs by the time the first wicket fell. Tom Foley took 2 for 33 for Wiltshire.

Having lost 3 times to Wiltshire in 2014, this was a great start to the season and indicative of the great spirit that has formed the building block of this current Dorset team.

Don't forget to check in 'News' for reports on our latest matches and RSS Feeds from our local newspapers

The following Dorset players also played for, or had careers with, First-Class Counties:
Jimmy Adams Edward Freeman Steve Malone
William Andrew Archie Gibson Robert Manser
Peter Badham Harold Gimblett Dimitri Mascarenhas
John Baker John Gordon Walter McBride
Patrick Barrow James Graham-Brown Cuan McCarthy
Leslie Bean Hubert Greenhill Geoffrey Ogilvy
Rayner Blitz Jon Hardy Owen Parkin
Bertie Bolton Percy Hardy David Payne
Thomas Bowley Ælfric Harrison Vyvian Pike
Derek Bridge Geoffrey Hebden Colin Roper
Charles Brutton Bob Herman Lee Savident
Paul Carey Andrew Hodgson Richard Scott
Box Case Philip Hope Steve Selwood
Edgar Chester-Master William Hounsell Derek Shackleton
John Claughton Wilf Hughes Julian Shackleton
Alan Coleman William Jephson Roger Sillence
Robert Coombs Gilbert Jessop Harold Stephenson
Geof Courtenay Chris Jones Reginald Swalwell
Nigel Cowley George Jones David Taylor
Len Creese Steffan Jones Max Waller
Ray Dovey Matthew Keech John Watson
Charles Fawcus Andrew Kennedy Charles Johnston Bourne Webb
Rob Ferley Walter Lancashire Alan Willows
Lloyd Ferreira Jack Leach George Woodhouse
Douglas Freeman Richard Lewis Larry Worrell


Dorset County Cricket Club is one of the County clubs which make up the Minor Counties in the English domestic cricket structure, representing the historic county of Dorset and playing in the Minor  Counties Championship and the MCCA Knockout Trophy.  The Minor Counties play three-day matches at a level one below that of the first-class game.  At present, Dorset competes in the Western Division of the Minor Counties Championship.

According to Wisden, there was county organisation in existence in either 1862 or 1871 but the present Dorset County Cricket Club was established on 5th February 1896. Since then, it has played Minor Counties cricket since 1897 and played List A cricket from 1968 to 2004, using a different number of home grounds during that time. Their first minor counties fixture in 1897 was against Wiltshire at the Recreation Ground, Blandford Forum, while their first List A match came 71 years later against Bedfordshire in the 1968 Gillette Cup at Sherborne School. The club is based at Dean Park, Bournemouth, which also held first-class and List A cricket for Hampshire from 1897 to 1992.

Cricket must have reached Dorset via neighbouring Hampshire by the end of the 17th century.  An advertisement in the Sherborne Mercury, dated Tuesday 9th May 1738, is the earliest reference for cricket in Dorset.  Twelve Dorchester men at Ridgway Races challenged twelve men from elsewhere to play them at cricker for the prize of twelve pairs of gloves valued at a shilling a pair.

Dorset has won the Minor Counties Championship twice, in 2000 and 2010.

Dorset has won the MCCA Knockout Trophy once since its inception in 1983.  It won in 1988.